Big Screen Blog

Media Center, Windows Phone7 + Silverlight Goodness..

Work-In-Progress: Big Screen Games

leave a comment »

I’ve been working on some simple MCPL Media Center games/time-wasters – one of which is a take on the classic Video Poker / Slot game with a couple of extra twists.  (Big Screen Video Poker is the current title).

I’m actually finding this quite challenging (and taking a little longer than expected) – as I tend to get bogged down a lot with the layout/design side of things. I’m not a graphic designer or artist – so I’m somewhat limited in what I can do – and I never seem to be 100% happy with the result.

One of things I was happy with was the reflection effect I achieved. (reflections are the new black).. The way I am doing it allows me to have the animations being reflected too – so it looks really nice when the card flips over (in 3D). One feature I added to the game involves a card being on fire (8 frame burning animation) – which also comes up nicely on the reflection (see bottom screenshot).

I’ve included a bunch of screenshots below (of what it looks like right now – notice quite a few ‘yuk’ bits still in the UI). No Release date just yet – but will be soon – and will probably be also launched with the other games I’m doing. 

Written by mobilewares

November 11, 2006 at 1:07 pm

Leave a comment